Know your limitations- Part 1: Hiring a professional versus DIY

I don’t change my oil.

I didn’t create my website.

I don’t sow my own clothes.

I don’t farm all the food I eat.

I don’t do a lot of things for two reasons:

1) I realize that I currently don’t have the talent to do something;

2) It may take a long time to learn how to do something properly and I feel my time is better spent doing something I am good at.

As a construction professional, I do a fair amount of work for the projects I have. But electrical, plumbing, and heating professionals all have separate licenses which means they have training that I don’t have. I hire them to do their respective work. I can hang drywall, paint, make cabinets, and install tile, but I choose to hire professionals for these jobs as well. They have the tools and skill sets to get the job done faster and better than I could do it.

Don’t get me wrong. ANYONE can learn to do ANYTHING with enough time and determination. But my point here is to know your limitations and realize that spending more money to have a profession do the work may be better than you spending all your time learning and still getting mixed results.

Good Luck

Jason- J Carsten Homes

2 thoughts on “Know your limitations- Part 1: Hiring a professional versus DIY

  1. Your article reminded me of what Clint Eastwood said in one of his movies, ” A man has got to know his limitations”. That is one principle that “Tim the Tool Man” did not follow.

    When it comes to hazardous work such as tree removal, it is best to contact a certified arborist who has the experience and equipment needed to remove a tree without it falling on a person or home.

    Personally, I don’t have the time to learn how to put up drywall, do carpentry work and tackle do it yourself plumbing projects. No thanks, I will call a professional. I know my limitations!

    Thanks again,
    Tobin Miller
    http://evanstreeworkllc.com

Leave a Reply

